The Negatives of the new Netjets proposal

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

doylehargraves

Ok NJA folks, we keep hearing from our CP at Flexjet that we only talk about the good things from this new proposal and that its not fair to only talk about the good things. For our benefit, what are the bad things in this new deal so we may discuss?

Danger, danger!

I am fairly new at NetJets...less than 2 years, so most of the big stuff seems to be aimed at bringing me up to the so-called "pre-rats". If this passes, I'll get to give up my 9.5 hour drive to/from work. I get a nice raise. I get a choice of three different schedules. I get to use a sick day for an off-day without having to tell a lie. All good.

What are the negatives?

There are two biggies as far as I'm concerned:

A 39 month seat-lock is onerous. For a first officer looking for his first captain up-grade, being seat-locked for more than 3 years on a non-apu aircraft during a time of rapid movement is a tough pill to swallow.

A contract that can possibly last until 2016 is outright dangerous should we have a period of hyper-inflation. Some of you might be old enough to remember how far wages fell behind during Jimmy Carter's presidency. I will never forget the economic hardship this economy impossed on every wage earner.

Danger, danger!

Exercise extreme caution.

I am really on the horns of a dilema. I really want to stop commuting and really would love the raise, but I have to ask myself if this interim agreement is a short cut to job/wage stagnation.

That 39 month seat lock still doesnt apply to a captain upgrade. Even if you bid in to the falcon as an fo which incurs another 39 month seat lock after you complete your inital seatlock you can still upgrade to captain and your seat lock just rolls over.