Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

EngineOut

Time to Make the Donuts!
What are some of your thoughts and experiences interviewing with a printout of an electronic logbook?

I've been using one for two years and just spent 7 hours last night transferring it all to my paper logbook because I've been told by several people that the paper logbook is required to interview with anyone. WTF? I can't imagine everyone who uses an e-log spends the time to do what I did last night.

What's the point of an e-log then? I understand the endorsements, I guess, but why not rip those out and put them in a binder with the e-log prints?

What do you all do?

Thanks.

I use logbook pro and a standard 3-ring binder. I export the spreadsheet data from logbook pro into adobe.

Before exporting the information to adobe I "customise" the columns so that the size looks ok.

After exporting the information, adobe will allow you to resize the pages to fit onto a standard 8.5x11 sheet of paper. Then use a hole puncher and throw them into the binder.

With 5000+ hours, it took me very little time to accomplish this. And the last interview I did (at America West,) worked out fine with this print out.

I also use logbook pro, and have for years. I brought my paper logs to my last interview (Flight Express), but they didn't even glance at them. Printout was sufficient there.

Electronic or paper...it shouldn't matter. According to the FAR's they only need be accurate. I started logging by the month after I hit the 7-8000 hr mark. You only need to log per flight if you are seeking an additional rating (Instrument, ATP, etc.) and the time needs to be broken down.