Why Can't I Pft Like The Rich Kids Do??

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Da Vinci

OK-FIRST!!!!!!!!!!!!! i'm studying right now to get my CFI so i can earn my way into ...somewhere...the hard and 'respected' way. so i'm not looking to get flamed here but i have a friend who is older like me...he's in his early 30's and he told me something that makes A LOT of sense...so i'm only asking those that have hiring position or that really KNOW about hiring of pilots for their opinion.

my friend said, HR departements frown on YOUNG pilots (kids-like the teenager that was right seat on a recent biz trip i took) who buy time...because they are young and should get experience. he said his 'source' advised him when older guys...myself...buy time, it's ok because we have already 'earned' our way in life and it is acceptable for us to try and accelerate our career by buying time.

so i have the means to buy 500 hours in most jets (eaglejet.net) without taking out a loan - is it REALLY the curse some of you guys say it is?? even for older guys? i'm 31 and every student in my CFI class is like 8 years younger. i'm looking for constructive feedback on this...'hot'...subject.

thanks

Da Vinci said:
he said his 'source' advised him when older guys...myself...buy time, it's ok because we have already 'earned' our way in life and it is acceptable for us to try and accelerate our career by buying time.
That's the most idiotic thing I've ever heard. You've "earned" your way in life??? What have you earned that places you above and beyond the skill level of a younger guy with comparable training??? If someone's flying me around, I want to know that person knows how to fly. I could care less about their age or whatever irrelevant things they've "earned" in life.

Da Vinci