PSA out of the 18th century?

PSAChiefPilots

Well-known member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Posts
272
Total Time
>1000
Was told today that any person who sends a resume via E-mail should get an Auto response with an Application attachment, which can be Downloaded and printed....Has anyone tried this yet? E-mail it to:

Opsrecruiter2@psaairlines.com

By the way, it requires Adobe acrobat reader (available on our website) and you have to print it to send it, No e-mailed apps. accepted.

Was also told that it would be available on the website, but this may take a little more time. www.psaairlines.com

You can also check www.PSAairlines.net We officially changed to .net but I tried to send it there and was told that the e-mail for this is .com!

Good Luck,
PSACPSP

Now here goes the Flamers...We have online Apps., Have for ever.
We have found out that most online apps at the regionals are not secure.

I don't want to be responsible for that Info.
 
Last edited:

mynameisjim

Don't try this at home
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Posts
842
Total Time
Paycut
Why does the company want so much information from every pilot applicant up front?

I would probably just take basic info at first, and wait a bit to see if you need their drivers license request form notarized.

I feel bad for the hiring people having to dig through all that paper!
 

PSAChiefPilots

Well-known member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Posts
272
Total Time
>1000
the big picture

mynameisjim said:
Why does the company want so much information from every pilot applicant up front?

I would probably just take basic info at first, and wait a bit to see if you need their drivers license request form notarized.

I feel bad for the hiring people having to dig through all that paper!
It's called the BIG picture. I had heard about it before but no one ever let me see it. j/k We are getting all the info that an online App. would give anyone else. Work history, training events, actual a/c flown, etc, etc.
It gives us a total picture of everything. As far as the Notary NDR and the Transcripts, they are not necessary but having everything together keeps it together. There are only a couple of people in that department to do all this paperwork (actually only one Pilot recruiter) so it makes things simpler for her. No complaints yet from applicants, It's the same info that most airlines send to you, to bring to the interview so It's just as easy to do it all at once, Trying to loosen her workload. Trust me, she is way overworked!!!
PSACPSP
 

EDUC8-or

These Nachos Are Good
Joined
Dec 6, 2002
Posts
326
Total Time
>1
I e-mailed yesterday, got the autoresponse, printed it up, and shipped it all out this morning.

I e-mailed N.A. today to ask about the packet. I'm sure she is very busy and I didn't get a reply, maybe you can answer my question. Two of the documents show up twice in the .PDF packet and I wasn't sure if they were supposed to be there twice. There was no mention of the duplicates in the instructions for the packet.

Hopefully I'll hear something soon, I read about the upcoming interview dates.
 

FL000

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Posts
1,577
Total Time
1500
You should forward your resume on parchment with quill and ink.
 

PSAChiefPilots

Well-known member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Posts
272
Total Time
>1000
Dupes

Yes, That is an error we are trying to correct...Please be patient as we enter the 19th century! NA was out of the office on Friday...I have a Q for you??? Was the EEO and Drug Test sheets in your downloaad??? SOme were originally missing those...Think someone accidentally switch those with the Dupes in the Scan process.
Good Luck,
PSACPSP
EDUC8-or said:
I e-mailed yesterday, got the autoresponse, printed it up, and shipped it all out this morning.

I e-mailed N.A. today to ask about the packet. I'm sure she is very busy and I didn't get a reply, maybe you can answer my question. Two of the documents show up twice in the .PDF packet and I wasn't sure if they were supposed to be there twice. There was no mention of the duplicates in the instructions for the packet.

Hopefully I'll hear something soon, I read about the upcoming interview dates.
 

EDUC8-or

These Nachos Are Good
Joined
Dec 6, 2002
Posts
326
Total Time
>1
PSAChiefPilots said:
Yes, That is an error we are trying to correct...Please be patient as we enter the 19th century! NA was out of the office on Friday...I have a Q for you??? Was the EEO and Drug Test sheets in your downloaad??? SOme were originally missing those...Think someone accidentally switch those with the Dupes in the Scan process.
Good Luck,
PSACPSP
Yes, the EEO and Drug Test sheets were in my download. Thanks for answering my question, I left out the duplicates.
 

Tarzan

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2005
Posts
2,073
Total Time
.
PSAChiefPilots,
Nicole sent me one. It had a few duplicates in it. The email said to have it in that order when I returned it. Didn't make much sense but I figured if I wanted a job, I had better return it as requested. Now I see why it was like that. Mine did have the EEO and drug consent forms however.
 

SiuDude

Internet tough guy
Joined
Sep 9, 2004
Posts
969
Total Time
Why
TiredOfTeaching said:
Mine did have the EEO and drug consent forms however.
Same with mine. I got the e-mail on 7/5 and sent the application in on that date, minus the transcripts and the NDR forms.
 

Traykn

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Posts
10
Total Time
1340
PSAChiefPilots:

I am about to send in my application to PSA. I have 1200TT. About 560 of that time is in a King Air 350 which requires a type rating that I do not have. I have been flying the airplane and have gained a lot of experience from it, but there seems to be some ambiguity in logging it. Almost all of my other time since training is in a King Air 200 which requires no type. Will you take into consideration all of this experience? Thanks.
 

PoorJetDriver

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 18, 2004
Posts
156
Total Time
7500
Traykn said:
PSAChiefPilots:

I am about to send in my application to PSA. I have 1200TT. About 560 of that time is in a King Air 350 which requires a type rating that I do not have. I have been flying the airplane and have gained a lot of experience from it, but there seems to be some ambiguity in logging it. Almost all of my other time since training is in a King Air 200 which requires no type. Will you take into consideration all of this experience? Thanks.
That's pretty risky logging that time. I'm sure many others will respond with their considered opinion...
 

328dude

Still turning two
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Posts
1,647
Total Time
??????
Traykn said:
Im logging it in a separate book and being upfront about it.
Traykn:
If your logging it in a seperate logbook, then you must have some dought yourself whether or not it's valid. It's good your being up front about it, but can you give a little insight to exactly what your doing for the company that is using you. Is it a 135 charter outfit? A priviate owner etc etc. The BE-350, I know you need a type rating for it, but can it be flown single pilot?

PSAChiefPilots is probably the best ne to either PM or ask. He's ultimatly the one of the interviewers that make the decision or what is valid time or not.

It will certainly come up in an interview though.
 

PSAChiefPilots

Well-known member
Joined
May 20, 2005
Posts
272
Total Time
>1000
350 time

Fill out without the 350 time, Then bring in the add'l Logbook and maybe another Copy of the Flt time sheet with the add'l 350 time...As I always say..."it always comes out in the sim." If you are flying the aircraft, it will come out. If you are not flying the Aircraft (turning knobs.), that will show as well. honesty is the best policy!
Thanks,
Good Luck,
PSACPSP

Traykn said:
PSAChiefPilots:

I am about to send in my application to PSA. I have 1200TT. About 560 of that time is in a King Air 350 which requires a type rating that I do not have. I have been flying the airplane and have gained a lot of experience from it, but there seems to be some ambiguity in logging it. Almost all of my other time since training is in a King Air 200 which requires no type. Will you take into consideration all of this experience? Thanks.
 

Gofish

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 2, 2005
Posts
329
Total Time
0000
Chief,

Get my packet?

I would really like to earn that free fish dinner!

regards,

Gofish
 

Traykn

Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2005
Posts
10
Total Time
1340
I fly right seat for mostly 135 flights. The aircraft does need a type rating but the type rating has an "auto pilot in lue" of second in command. Therefore, it can be flown single pilot. The FARs say that if an SIC is not needed, then you can log the hours without a SIC certificate. The plane normally needs an SIC, but because of the special type certificate, I am not needed. So the questions is, am I not needed because of the auto pilot, and can therefore log it, or is the auto pilot acting as SIC and there cannot be two SICs, and so I cannot log it. Nomatter how many people I ask, I get a different answer as to how they interpret the FARS.

I am doing the flying from both seats and gaining valuable experience, but the technicality of logging it worries me. I don't log it as PIC and keep it in a separate logbook just in case. I guess it just depends on how the interviewer interprets whether or not this experience is valuable to the company. Personally, I think this time is better than hours flying a 152.
 
Top