Piedmont Questions

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

daviator28621

I finally got the call from piedmont for an interview and if all goes well I will continue to smile.
I have a few questions about piedmont though.
Please don't flame me, I'm a newbie.

1.) What is the possibility of choosing domicile?

I want Roanoke, VA or New Bern, NC
Is there drawbacks to these bases?

2.) How does pay really work? I know garuntee is 72hours, but what is it really, for those who are experiencing it?

3.) What are the schedules like for new guys?
Please give example.

Thank you in advance
David

If you don't break guarantee as a FO right now then we are all in serious trouble. You get $5000 for getting hired anyways, so that's a good boost. As unfair as it is for the rest of us...

Thank you in advance
David

Back in the day...

EWN always went fairly junior. Don't plan on commuting in the summer though, as all the planes are packed, and a fair number of the senior dudes commute as well.

Craven County, and New Bern especially, when I was there was sleepy with a capital S.

New Bern is WAY the heck out there, nearly to the Eastern Shore. Plan on at least a 2 hour drive to any substantial population center, like Raleigh.

If you're married with kids, then it might just be the ticket. Cost of living was very reasonable.

If you're single (and not a Marine), then times will be tough, as there are about 300 young men per female due to the 2 LARGE Marine bases at Cherry Pont and Jacksonville, NC. If you move up the road to Greenville, NC, where ECU is, you might have better opportunity (about 30 mins from the airport) and a better QoL.

Roanoke is just plain weird. I got the vibe that you pretty much had to be from there to enjoy it.