Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

VNugget

suck squeeze bang blow
Well, here is my situation. I graduated high school in 2001 (in San Jose, Calif.) and have been wallowing in community college without any clear plans since. I had the vague intention of transferring to a 4-year college to get a BS in computer science, but was never really serious or enthusiastic about it.

Recently, I made the realization that aviation will most definitely be my career. In the past week or so, I have been doing a ton of reading (especially this messge board) and learned a bit about the career paths that different pilots take. Like most of you, I have an incredible love for flying, and would be extatic if I end up doing ANYTHING up in the air for a living... all the way from dusting crops to flying "heavy metal" for the majors. (Well, maybe except for that cropdusting thing... it looks like fun but I hear the pay isn't so great. And I know not to expect anything to do with the majors anytime soon.)

I got all kinds of crazy ideas, about ERAU and such, but those quickly fizzed away, as my family isn't made of money. Now I have formulated some other plans, but more on that later.

From all the reading I've done, it seems that most people bootstrap their aviation career by CFI-ing (on the side of either going to school or working another job and living on ramen noodles, in classic starving artist fashion) to build up hours with which to move on to higher levels of the ladder. (ermm.. "branches of the tree" seems more appropriate.)