Flying for the Air Force

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

PilotOnTheRise

I have a few questions for any of you Air Force, or other military pilots.

I am a current college student. I have become very interested in flying for the Air Force, and have been looking into the AFROTC program. Now, I realize that getting a pilot/navigator slot is not guaranteed, but does having a private help? Also, do you military men and women recommend the military as a way to go for a career, flying or not? It seems like being an officer in the military is a really good route to go, but I want to hear first hand from some of you guys.

Thanks,
Chris

I am not an Officer nor am i in the military (yet, will be going enlisted ANG soon). To shin some light in your direction being an Officer in the military is a good thing to be. Especially as a pilot/nav. Haveing your private license does help alittle bit from what im told. It will help you when your testing for a pilot slot and such. AFROTC is a good thing to be apart of, however you must understand that your arent guaranteed a pilots slot and your still going to have to give a comitment to the AF once your commissioned.

bobs98tlr said:
I am not an Officer nor am i in the military (yet, will be going enlisted ANG soon). To shin some light in your direction being an Officer in the military is a good thing to be. Especially as a pilot/nav. Haveing your private license does help alittle bit from what im told. It will help you when your testing for a pilot slot and such. AFROTC is a good thing to be apart of, however you must understand that your arent guaranteed a pilots slot and your still going to have to give a comitment to the AF once your commissioned.