• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

boeingaaa

Boeingaaa
Hello,
I've been reading this message board for quite a while. So far, it's been very helpful in my flight training (although I'm only a private pilot). Anyway, I was trying to access my options for the future, and as always with anything anything aviation related, they're needlessly complicated. The basic question of this post is:

What is the difference between Corporate and Commercial flying? I realize that commercial is flying airliners like United etc, and corporate is usually companies or charted planes, but that's where my knowledge stops. I'm looking in terms of life style, pay, travel, security/stability, and anything else you know.

Sincerely,
Hopelessly confused - Alex:confused:

Difference

In corporate you fly anything form a Cessna 182 to a Boeing 757. You are on the leash 24/7 in most cases. The pay ranges from 350K down to 18K and you have to put time in the factory. Most corporate jobs pay poorly and have bad working conditions. Your job can disappear overnight.

The airlines (commercial) gives you a schedule 30 days in advance. The pay ranges from 18K to 250 or so. You will be gone from home more than 50% of the time. Most airline jobs are below 35K. The industry is currently in decline. The best jobs are going away.

If I were you I would stop at the private. Enjoy life, get a good job. Stay away from aviation.

Skyline