• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

secks

SERENITY NOW!!!
Hello,

I'm a 21 year old college student on the verge of graduating with a degree in computer science and a degree in electrical engineering, 3.8 GPA. I am seriously considering pursuing a lifetime career in aviation, and would like some advice.

My main goal is to eventually fly Boeing heavies for the airlines/cargolines. The civilian route (instructing, PFT, etc) appears risky, expensive, and possibly very depressing. Thus, I'm giving serious consideration to serving my country in exchange for flight training and flight hours.

Unfortunately, I have no military experience, no PPL, and poor eyesight. I am more than willing to undergo PRK to correct my vision, however. Otherwise, I am in good shape.

On with the questions:

1) What are the pros and cons to the AF, AFRES, and ANG?

2) Which branch will provide me with the greatest opportunity to fly? What I fly really doesn't matter, as long as I'm doing something productive for the military (and myself)!

3) What are the commitments with each of the branches?

4) Is there any advantage to going AD?

5) Is it common for the AFRES and ANG to hire pilots full time?

6) What happens if you sign on with the reserve/guard and wash out of UPT?

7) Given the fact that I have poor eyesight, no family connections to a guard/reserve unit, and no PPL, are my chances of being accepted slim to none?

8) If my main goal is to earn enough hours to eventually fly for the majors, would I be better off taking the civilian route?

Thanks for reading.