• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Comair's New President/Other Questions

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Simply put, that letter you're referring to doesn't exist. Safety issues? Sounds more like what DALPA would tell it's pilots if it really wanted to get them riled up against someone other than themselves.

Sorry BVT, but you're wrong on this one. As a CMR pilot, I disagreed vehemently with JC when this came out, but to no avail. As others have said, the CMR MEC doesn't decide who gets hired and who doesn't. Only the company has the power to drop the seniority resignation requirement. That said, JC decided to throw some more gas on the fire. [Sig, hope you don't mind me copying one of your old posts]

[FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']TO: Comair Pilots[/font][FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']
DATE:December 16, 2002
Your MEC met in CVG with the Delta MEC Chairman, Captain Will Buergey, at his request, to discuss preferential hiring of furloughed Delta pilots at Comair. Through this letter, I hope to dispel rumors and provide a more thorough understanding of the purpose and outcome of that meeting.

The Delta MEC, while in session at the bi-annual October Board of Directors meeting in Hollywood, Florida, formally directed the Delta MEC Chairman via resolution to meet with the Comair MEC Chairman to seek preferential hiring for furloughed Delta pilots at Comair while allowing them to retain their Delta seniority.

The general philosophy held by the Comair MEC is:

We are sensitive to the regrettable plight of all furloughed pilots in our industry.
We encourage our management to hire pilots who seek a future at Comair.
We have formally approached Comair management and our management has agreed to preferential hiring of furloughed ALPA pilots.