Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

LXApilot

Owes More Than He Makes
Hey guys- I've been out of flying for about six months while I was finishing my bachelor degree. I'll be done in about two weeks. Currently I've got about 5,200 total time and 1,100 turbine PIC. I flew at the commuter airlines for just over 2 years and have flown FAR135 the rest of the time as a Captain. I'm interested in going back to full-time professional flying as soon as my degree is complete but would like to try the cargo side of the business since I've already flown the commuters. Can anyone PM me some suggestions regarding who I should look into?
I appreciate all of your opinions and support. Thanks for taking the time to read this.

With those kind of hours I'd be looking into Atlas.

Southern Air, once they start hiring again, might be a fairly good place to start again. But I wouldn't expect that until they get their 400's, and that might not be for another 6-8 months. Maybe sooner.

Unless you live in Miami and are of direct Cuban descent (i.e., you floated over in a rubber raft flotilla), or are a masochist, I'd avoid any and all Miami-based operators like the Latin plague.

But really, you've got the quals to get on at Atlas, so I'd focus 99.9% of my energies there.