• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

ASA 700 Staffing

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
I swear ALPA needs to do a mass course on Airline Economics, Finance and Managing Expectations. Its severely needed.

Maybe it's early and I'm missing something but where am I wrong...

CRj = 50 seats 1600/side = 3200/hr. to carry 150 seats 1 hr (3 ac) = 9600lbs/hr

A320 = 150 seats 2600/side = 5200/ hr to carry 150 seats 1 hr.

Am I missing something?

Yes, you get the ability to flex your schedule, but to get the same amount of folks from point a to b on a crj200 you burn almost twice the fuel. I have no experience with the 70 or 90, maybe it has a better burn.

Don't forget that the a320 also has first class.

Actually, considering a 150 seat airbus burns ~2600/ side at .78, and the RJ if I remember was 1600/ a side... At .74... CRj burns about 9600lbs/ hr to carry 150 folks and the bus burns 5200. That's a little more then negligible.
Mainline CA @ 10yrs= $172/hr. vs. RJ CA @ 10yrs= $79/hr.
and
Mainline FO @ 2yrs= $86/hr. vs RJ FO @ 2yrs= $36/hr.
(not to mention the differences in contracts, benefits, training, A/C costs, blah, blah, blah)
and
Mainline FA's vs. RJ FA's (3 to 1) no idea the $
and
Mainline MTC...blah, blah, blah, blah.....

I guarantee its not the huge cost gap you have been led to believe.

ohplease! said:
I guarantee its not the huge cost gap you have been led to believe.

The delta (no pun intended) in fuel burn is 4400lb or 656 gallons; at the $3.11/gal average fuel price Delta paid in Q1'12 per the 10Q that's over $2000.

I'd say that more than makes up the difference in crew costs.

The delta (no pun intended) in fuel burn is 4400lb or 656 gallons; at the $3.11/gal average fuel price Delta paid in Q1'12 per the 10Q that's over $2000.