• NC Software is proud to announce the release of APDL - Airline Pilot Logbook version 10.0. Click here to view APDL on the Apple App store and install now.

Airshow

thatpilotguy

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Posts
217
Total Time
Some
The aircraft owner asked if we could change the logo on the airshow screen. After doing some research I discovered that Airshow wants a TON of money to change the logo.

Do any of you have an secret that you might like to share with me on how to change the logo and avoid the high costs?

Thx
 

Spooky 1

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2004
Posts
987
Total Time
Some
thatpilotguy said:
The aircraft owner asked if we could change the logo on the airshow screen. After doing some research I discovered that Airshow wants a TON of money to change the logo.

Do any of you have an secret that you might like to share with me on how to change the logo and avoid the high costs?

Thx

I suspect you are treading into waters that neither you or the owner need to be in. Most of these companies are very aggressive when it comes to protecting both their intellectulal rights and technology capabilities. Don't know what your owner does for a living, but I bet if the tables were turned he would not appreciate someone going around him in this manner.

I am not the intellectaual property police, so don't get me wrong. It's just that high end users are more exposed to serious financial recriminations than some others. I could spend some serious time telling stories about obtaining STC's on Boeing equipment from large completion centers, that were a fraction of the cost that Boeing offered, only to have them all come back at a later time when we really needed Boeing to assist us in an upgrade.
 
Last edited:

semperfido

Keep Humpin
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Posts
1,873
Total Time
11K+
thatpilotguy said:
The aircraft owner asked if we could change the logo on the airshow screen. After doing some research I discovered that Airshow wants a TON of money to change the logo.

Do any of you have an secret that you might like to share with me on how to change the logo and avoid the high costs?

Thx

how much is a ton?:)
 

thatpilotguy

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 21, 2005
Posts
217
Total Time
Some
As memory serves I was told that the new logo would be sent to the company in question, they would "burn" an update CD and send it back to us. The total cost was something like $1200.00. I know that most things in aviation have a high dollar value, but this seems excessive.
 

semperfido

Keep Humpin
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Posts
1,873
Total Time
11K+
seems within reason to me. not much in the big scheme if your owner really wants it.:)
 

Computer Geek

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Posts
122
Total Time
8500
I think the last one I saw done cost 8000.00 so I would double check your numbers. this was for the new AS 4000 though.

cg
 

AA717driver

A simpler time...
Joined
Mar 27, 2003
Posts
4,911
Total Time
+/-13k
I'll try to pick up some software that will do the trick while I'm in China... :p TC
 

Computer Geek

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Posts
122
Total Time
8500
So far its been working really nice. The folks really like the grapics, and the being able to see the headlines etc.

Have you been having issues?

CG
 

aeronautic1

Virgil_Tracy
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Posts
716
Total Time
3500
If you are talking AS 400 or 4000, it is Pentium and any computer geek and load it. If it is an older unit, then you may need to cut out your company logo on contruction paper and tape it over your salon screen. Cost... about 5 dollars.


Personally, I like having the camera up on the tail on instead.
 

wildbill

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Posts
225
Total Time
5000
We just paid big bucks to upgrade our as100 to an as400 in the wiz. The only things that work are the company logo, outside air temp, and altitude. We paid for more , but it does not work as of yet. Customer service or should I say no service sux....
 

banned username 2

Banned
Banned User
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Posts
3,254
aeronautic1 said:
Personally, I like having the camera up on the tail on instead.
Our G-V has the external camera's... I spent most of my first trip watching our contrail swirl into the sunset on my FMS screen...
 

semperfido

Keep Humpin
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Posts
1,873
Total Time
11K+
Falcon Capt said:
Our G-V has the external camera's... I spent most of my first trip watching our contrail swirl into the sunset on my FMS screen...

..or watching the nosewheel to see if the other guy can stay on the centerline
 

Beechjetr

Well-known member
Joined
May 21, 2004
Posts
104
Total Time
some
Falcon Capt said:
Our G-V has the external camera's... I spent most of my first trip watching our contrail swirl into the sunset on my FMS screen...

That sounds pretty damn cool. Ever do a 360 and fly thru your own contrail?
 

banned username 2

Banned
Banned User
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Posts
3,254
Beechjetr said:
That sounds pretty dang cool. Ever do a 360 and fly thru your own contrail?
Yeah, did that years ago in the Lear 35 on a dead head... asked for a 360 and center was like "Well, oookkk... if that is what you want to do!"
 
Top