135 Scabs

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

hawkerjet

Well not technically, but can anyone come up with a better word describing the following.. I have noticed that there has been a slight increase in the number of pilots joining our ranks in the 135 field that have retired from another profession. This alone does not bother me but some of them have a good pension from their previous jobs and offer to work for below prevailing wage. I know of an several ex military guys as well as several ex cops in the socal area alone. i've brought it to their attention and it doesn't seem to bother them.
I don't think it's right but does anyone else agree with me. while i respect the men & women in uniform (I'm also a vet) i don't agree with a senior flight officer retiring from the service and whoring himself out for well below industry norms and contract rates.
I don't mean to offend the military rank and file; and if you are offended, it is not my intention, it's the few that work below established norms. by below norms i mean a Chief Pilot making below $80,000 that oversee's more than 12 planes including Gulfstreams, and another DO making below $60,000 working for an even larger company.

And what is wrong with offending people? Maybe some people need to be offended once in a while. Maybe these people are due to be offended. Don't worry about what people think. If you feel something is wrong, it probably is. I agree with you. Thank you military personel. Please don't rape our civilian jobs, and don't expect those of us to hand over our "women" because you were/are military. Even though I specifically talked about some military persons, this offending should be applied to alot of civillian persons as well.