• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Would you give up the jumpseat?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
"Going to see family" can mean a lot of things. I have told people that on a number of occasions. Once it was for a wedding. Another time it was for a funeral, and a couple of times for family reunions. Sometimes it was just to go hang out with my brother for a few days.

I would gladly let the jumpseat go for the latter, but not for the first three. In all those cases, when people asked, I told them I was going to visit family. No offense, but the details are really none of anyone's business if I don't feel like talking about it.

I would give the guy the benefit of the doubt. You just don't know what his circumstances were.

Sadly, I'm with Newman on this. I was a new XJT pilot getting ready to spend a long weekend with some frineds of mine in JAX. Well, the flight was full and at the time pilots couldn't use the FA jump. This AA pilot comes up to me desperate for the jumpseat to visit his mom who is very sick...no brainer I said "its yours", even followed him out to the hardstands b/c our retarded IAH gate agents insisted that I go before him. I get the later flight in 2 hours no big deal.

Get this! So after the weekend, I see that same AA pilot, along with another non-COEX pilot standing at the desk going back to IAH. I stand behind them and overhear all about the nice few days of golfing they got in together with the gate agent. I said, hey so the golfing was good huh? Glad I sat around for 2 more hour so you could make get another round in...he turned white and needless to say didn't make the flight back to IAH (FULL).

NEVER AGAIN will I give up my seat, too bad I got con-ed only 3 months into my first 121 job...oh well for the next guy.