Working for a Foreign Airline

RightTraffic

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Posts
102
Total Time
3500
I recently got offered an interview at Copa Airlines out of Panama flying 737-700's. Is there anything bad about flying for a airline outside the U.S. foR a little while then trying to get a job with a U.S. carrier again. I am currently flying Saab340s and Metroliners (SIC) in the U.S.
 

coolyokeluke

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 21, 2002
Posts
313
Total Time
2600+
PenAir?

I think in South and Central America pilots are still viewed as holding a high place in society. And I think you make a lot relative to the cost of living down there.
 

RightTraffic

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Posts
102
Total Time
3500
Actually, I fly for IBC Airways out of Miami, Florida. I applied for Copa Airlines a long time ago and I just got the email. It seems like a pretty good airline but I do not know I that will be a good career move.
 

B6Driver

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Posts
498
Total Time
10000+
Not ment to bash but you two don't have all that much flt. time so just about anybody offering you B737-700 flt. time should be viewed as a super deal for a few years. Learn Spanish and don't marry anybody down there and it should be quite the experience. Go for it!
 

CSY Mon

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 10, 2004
Posts
746
Total Time
12K+
Or ya will always be the gringo stealing the local's jobs.


Don't expect to be one of the boys down there, but rather a warm body in the right seat.

I worked for a couple of foreign carriers and have no desire to do it again.
 

typhoonpilot

Daddy
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Posts
1,381
Total Time
17000+
RightTraffic said:
I recently got offered an interview at Copa Airlines out of Panama flying 737-700's. Is there anything bad about flying for a airline outside the U.S. foR a little while then trying to get a job with a U.S. carrier again. I am currently flying Saab340s and Metroliners (SIC) in the U.S.

Go to the Fedex and UPS websites and find their qualifications for First Officer. Read the note under qualifications here: http://www.pilot.fedex.com/?link=1. " Must have resided in the United States for the last 5 consecutive years. I believe UPS is the same. Something to think about if you want to work for either of those carriers.


TP
 

TonyC

Frederick's Happy Face
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Posts
3,050
Total Time
>8,000
typhoonpilot said:
Go to the Fedex and UPS websites and find their qualifications for First Officer. Read the note under qualifications here: http://www.pilot.fedex.com/?link=1. " Must have resided in the United States for the last 5 consecutive years. I believe UPS is the same. Something to think about if you want to work for either of those carriers.


TP
I had forgotten about that. The requirement was added when we began carrying mail, and I believe it has to do with the background check required to satisfy the USPS. It's ironic, though, that we have many pilots that live outside of the US, and I don't mean just Subic.


hmmmmmm



:cool:
 

vtwo

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Posts
329
Total Time
+11K
Where you work and where you live can be 2 very different places. keep an address in the states and visit once in a while. if you keep a utility in your name here in the us that would help too
 

TonyC

Frederick's Happy Face
Joined
Oct 21, 2002
Posts
3,050
Total Time
>8,000
vtwo said:
Where you work and where you live can be 2 very different places. keep an address in the states and visit once in a while. if you keep a utility in your name here in the us that would help too
The IRS really likes it when you get creative with addresses, and even better when you try to be sneaky about it.



:)



.
 

RightTraffic

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Posts
102
Total Time
3500
I will not be working there anyway because they require you to be billingual, I just found out today. I guess that makes sense being a spanish speking country but then again, do you have to speak chinese to fly for Cathay Pacific?. Whatever!!!....Thanks for all the feed back guys!!!
 

typhoonpilot

Daddy
Joined
Feb 24, 2002
Posts
1,381
Total Time
17000+
RightTraffic said:
I will not be working there anyway because they require you to be billingual, I just found out today. I guess that makes sense being a spanish speking country but then again, do you have to speak chinese to fly for Cathay Pacific?. Whatever!!!....Thanks for all the feed back guys!!!

You don't have to speak Chinese to work for Cathay, but it wouldn't hurt. It helps immensely with situational awareness when flying inside mainland China. Much as it helps to understand Spanish when flying over Mexico, or French when flying over France ( don't get me started on the French ). Those happen to be three countries that jeopardize safety by their ATC practices.

It isn't an unrealistic requirement to have a language requirement as some airlines do all their instruction and have all their manuals in their mother tongue. Lufthanse has a German speaking requirement, as Air France ( surprise ) has a French speaking requirement. Every U.S. airline has an English speaking requirement so that seems fair enough.


Typhoonpilot
 

sf260pilot

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Posts
150
Total Time
4770
What about flying around Montreal...is that French or some sort of Klingon! I thought that Canada eh was english. Not around Montreal, the French even look down on Quebec the way they butcher the language.
 

Bjammin

Cease Buzzer
Joined
May 13, 2004
Posts
585
Total Time
>6000
I vary rarely fly over China or have anything to do with their language. It would be better to learn Thai. I can't understand clearence in BKK to save my life. Singapore, Taiwan, Japan, almost anything else is great. It sucks though when I get to ANC for the first time in a while and have a hard time understanding ground when he says, "Cleared to parking."
The only reason I would want to know Chinese is to hear what the FA's had to say about my landing as they snicker and look at me while walking down the terminal.
 

737wsouth

New member
Joined
Jan 18, 2005
Posts
3
Total Time
12500
You may be surprise

RightTraffic said:
I will not be working there anyway because they require you to be billingual, I just found out today. I guess that makes sense being a spanish speking country but then again, do you have to speak chinese to fly for Cathay Pacific?. Whatever!!!....Thanks for all the feed back guys!!!
Hello right traffic . In copa airlines we have alot non nationals close to 30 all of then are great guys . by the way ours SR VP operation is a big TEXAn . be cool fly boeing .
 

RightTraffic

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 6, 2005
Posts
102
Total Time
3500
Hello 737wsouth
I spoke to Greta in HR and she told me that I had to be billingual. My mom is Panamanian and she is the one that put me in touch with Greta. Its too bad that I can understand a lot of spanish but I cannot speak it that much. I was looking forward to getting a chance to fly for Copa! I
 
Top