Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

TriJet

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie when it comes to motorbikes, looking to buy a lower performance one to ride around on the days off. Anyone has any suggestion on which bikes are worth looking at?

I know it's dangerous, but sure looks like fun!

Trijet

Last edited:
real me ride harleys until the **CENSORED****CENSORED****CENSORED****CENSORED** thing rattles your nuts off. If you want a sport bike I'd say start with a Suzuki GSX-R 600, wellbuilt and great to learn on. If you buy one used don't but it from anyone under 25 years old for sure. More than likely it has been abused.

Are you looking towards a sport bike or a cruiser?

The danger is minimal, as long as you ride responsibly, be aware of your surroundings, and follow one simple rule:
Helmet and leathers- EVERY RIDE!

I'll agree it'd be nice to have a Harley.....but how many of us, especially you regional guys, can afford to pi$$ away 20-25,000 on a motorcycle? I got a 2004 Honda VTX1300 for 6900 new...has same power and size motor as the biggest of Harleys, threw on some custom pipes for 300 bucks and is now much louder than a Harley. And the insurance is much cheaper if you dont have a H-D. Besides..now a days it seems like every lawyer/banker/doctor type is jumping on the Harley bandwagon......its becoming the Lexus of cruiser bikes.

Save your loot until you can start up a racket like Kit Darby....then you can buy two bikes and whine to everyone that "the industry's getting so bad I had to sell my spare Harley"