• Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Status
Not open for further replies.

choppengruven

I am an Army of One (or 2, or 300, ...)

I am an army of One - A Pilot in the Flight Options army.
For years I was a loyal soldier in the FO army. Now I fight my own fight.
I used to feel valued and respected. Now I know I am mere fodder.
They, FO, used to exhibit labor leadership. Now they exploit legal loopholes.
They used to enjoy my maximum. Now they will suffer my minimum.

I am an army of One.
I used to save FO a hundreds of pounds of fuel per leg; finding the best FL, getting direct routing, throttling back when on-time with a tail wind, skimping during ground ops, adjusting for winds, being smart and giving the company every effort I could conjure. Now, it's "burn baby, burn".
I used to call maintenance while airborne, so the part would be ready at the destination. Now, they'll find the 501 when they look in the book.
I used to try to fix problems in the system, now I sit and watch as the miscues pile up.
I used to fly sick. Now I use my sick days, on short notice, on the worst day of the month.

I am an army of One.

I used to start the APU at the last possible moment. Now my customers enjoy extreme comfort.
I used to let the price of fuel affect my fuel orders. I still do.
I used to cover mistakes by OCC. Now I watch them unfold.
I used to hustle to ensure an on-time departure and arrival, to make us the best.

Now I do it for the rampers and agents who need the bonus money……but this too may change.
I used to call dispatch for rerouting, to head off ground delays for bad weather. Now I am the delay, number 35 in line for takeoff

I am an army of One

I am on a new mission - to demonstrate that misguided leadership of indifference and disrespect has a cost. It's about character, not contracts.