Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

DrewBlows

Go Tigers!
I'm currently a First Officer at a bankrupt regional airline and am considering a position at a small fractional company (see my thread on Northern Jet Management). I'm at my second regional, with one bankruptcy, one furlough, and one threatened furlough (long story) under my belt. Since my past career decisions have gotten me this far I figured I'd ask for some insight and advice.

I have some thoughts on fractional companies and corporate aviation in general and wonder if those thoughts are accurate. First, it's more difficult to get into corporate aviation if you go to the airlines first. Second, it's easier to get another corporate aviation job if you already have one (kind of goes with my first thought). Third, if you switch companies you don't necessarily have to start on the bottom (like the airline seniority system).

Now my situation. I currently commute (one leg, three hours, door-to-door) to sit reserve, a situation that is not likely to change any time soon (assuming my company is still in business). If I were to be offered and accept the job at Northern Jet, I would have to relocate, but would still be a two hour drive from my family. The pay would be comparable but I would fly less. Days off are similar. I would enjoy the diversity of flying and interaction with clients. Overall I think my quality of life would improve, by virtue of I wouldn't be commuting twice a week.

So, is this a good career move? Or should I stay where I'm at to build time faster (again assuming my company stays in business)? I guess I'm trying to figure out what is better, building time or getting a foot in the door (so to speak) in the corporate aviation world. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
DrewBlows said: