Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

WestHouston

Something witty
I'm pulling my hair out wrestling with a decision. I have a salaried, full benefits flying job that gives me weekends off. It's not a ton of money, but it's more than I'd make at a regional for a few years. It's all single engine piston VFR time so it's not the most valuable, but I build hours fast. I'm up to a little over 1300 hours now. I have an associates degree in aeronautical science and I know that's not that valuable. If I lost my medical, I'd be screwed.

I always wanted to get my bachelor's but being married+house+job it wasn't an option. Using the traditional GI Bill wouldn't help much. Now however, there is a new GI Bill that not only pays all tuition, but pays housing allowance at an E-5 with dependents rate, which in my zip code, is roughly $1500 a month, plus $1000 for books a year and $100 a month for tutoring. If I were to get a part time job I would be able to maintain my current income.

In the long run, I can't imaging looking back and regretting getting my BA, but it's so hard to give up a good job in the current economy. I met a former king air driver ramping today for crying out loud. I don't want to just do night classes, as we are having a baby and someone needs to help my wife. It's either stay where I'm at for who knows how long, or quit and go to school full time. I have a part time contract commander gig that would hopefully keep me current.

Part of me says that the economy sucks, and is going to take a few years to get better and I might as well have completed my education. The other part says you'd be nuts to quit a salaried job with insurance in this job climate.

Sigh. I've never been so torn on a decision. Any thoughts? Words of wisdom?