Pilot Hats

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

328jetdriver

Who likes to wear them? I think it looks ridiculous on me. Friends and family say the same. To big for my head. Unfortunately we have to wear them. This thread is all in good fun, not venting.

If your hat is the wrong size, of course it will look stupid. I'm from the old school. I still remember when people got dressed up in their Sunday finest to fly on an airplane. I also remember when the overhard rack didn't have doors and they were designed for coats and hats. I guess you can figure out I'm an OLD fart. You're correct. I've been an airline pilot for 36 years and when I got hired, it was an honor to wear the hat I had so long yearned to wear. Now you young guys probably look at your uniform with disdain. True, we don't garner the respect from the traveling public we once did, but I can assure you, no matter what the public thinks, I'm still proud to put on my hat every trip. I feel just a little more professional, whether the customer thinks so or not.
Go ahead youngn's, flame away
Captain C. Weisser
A330-International Check Airman

bud5437 said:
I guess you can figure out I'm an OLD fart. You're correct. I've been an airline pilot for 36 years and when I got hired, it was an honor to wear the hat I had so long yearned to wear. Now you young guys probably look at your uniform with disdain. ...

Bud, the times, they are a-changin'. Don't you get it?...they don't want to mess up their moussed, structured hair.

I have only been in the airline business for 3 and 1/2 years and enjoy wearing the hat.

Mayday.