Logging Flight Time

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

ChicoC17

I've been flying in the Air Force for a couple of years now, and I'm just wondering what should I log on my personal logbook. Should I just log primary time?? or both primary and secondary?? Any help with this would be much appreciate it. Thanks!!

logging flight time

ChicoC17,
I'll tell you what most of us do in my squadron and you can take it from there. First, get some logbook software. There are many programs available, I just happen to use FlightLevel. Next, I set up the program w/the same columns as in my Navy logbook and punched in all my flights. The reason this will help is that most companies you may send a resume to will want your flight time totaled using different methods.

For instance, some may want you to include your UPT time and some may not. Others may want aircraft commander time in the left or right seat and not while you were in the rack even though you signed for the plane. Some may want to know when you were at the controls while a qualified aircraft commander even though you weren't aircraft commander of that sortie. etc, etc, etc.

By having your flight time in the software you can filter it based on date, a/c type, first pilot, copilot, aircraft commader, IP, ccx, daytime, night landings, etc. and easily come up w/the information they want. It basically gives you flexibility. It'll be painful typing in all the data but worth it in the end.

Hope this helps.