Jetblue Landing Observation

AdlerDriver

Can't even hold reserve!
Total Time
6000+
Was anyone else surprised when the first responders to the aircraft IMMEDIATELY began wandering around UNDER the aircraft nose as it sat on its stub??!! I really would have thought a conservative/safer approach would have been to get some jacks or something on the nose in case the strut let go. To make matters worse, then they ran a set of airstairs up against the aircraft and just assumed it was going to be okay while unloading the pax. Thankfully it wasn't a problem. It seemed like things were well handled up to that point. It would have been a shame if that Airbus had done a face plant and hurt someone after it had been brought to zero knots so successfully. JMHO

Dizel8

Douglas metal
Total Time
Huh?
Not that I am an engineer, although I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night, but I think the nosewheel strut is a lot stronger than you think. Having seen videos of test, the landing was a piece of cake to the strut.

I have little doubt, that the strut assembly is quite serviceable, sure it will need some news parts, but I doubt there is internal structural failure.

gear_guy

Total Time
6000+
AdlerDriver said:
Was anyone else surprised when the first responders to the aircraft IMMEDIATELY began wandering around UNDER the aircraft nose as it sat on its stub??!! I really would have thought a conservative/safer approach would have been to get some jacks or something on the nose in case the strut let go. To make matters worse, then they ran a set of airstairs up against the aircraft and just assumed it was going to be okay while unloading the pax. Thankfully it wasn't a problem. It seemed like things were well handled up to that point. It would have been a shame if that Airbus had done a face plant and hurt someone after it had been brought to zero knots so successfully. JMHO