Instructor shortage..

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

FlyingToIST

I would like to find out how the schools are coping with instructor shortage. I have had no luck in terms of qualified instructors for instructors that will qualify for assistant chief 141.

There are a lot of the instructors that have fresh ratings, but not some experienced ones..

I'm a Chief Flight Instructor and seeing the same thing. How to find qualified individuals?

Pay and QOL.

I decided not too long ago that I really didn't care if I never set foot in the cockpit of a 757, Gee Fife, etc. What matters for me is pay and QOL. Can I afford and maintain a good lifestyle? If the answer is yes, then here I come.

I don't want to be stuck at the airport 15 hours a day to get 7 hours of flight pay...hell, if I never fly but do 6 hours of ground school, that's fine by me too.

I enjoy instructing and want to make a career out of it if I can. That's what it comes down to for me. I'm sure there are others out there that feel the same way.

For the rest of 'em.........it's SJS.

-mini

SJS Aero Club

New idea....

Put CRJ's on the rental line. Forget the 172's and the Seminoles. The way training prices are going, you might not have to raise the rates. They might stay around AND make more than an FO at a regional. After a year as a CFI, 1000 ME turbine PIC. Lookout Majors!

Sorry. Couldn't resist. There are 2 serious issues here: 1) cost of training (to include the user fee debate) and 2) the rapid progression to 121 carriers.