I can't flight instruct

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

dcramer16

I will be finishing up my training with ATP Flight School pretty soon and have been thinking about whats next. I DON'T WANT TO FLIGHT INSTRUCT. Not because I'm too good for it, not because the low pay. I am not good at teaching. Some people can do it and some can't. I don't want to be an instructor just for the hours and screw up a bunch of students just so I can get my hours. If I am going to instruct, I want to be a great instructor, and teach, not just log hours. I will be finishing up with something like 150 Multi, 240TT, 90PIC. What are my options as far as getting a job and building up hours to move on to the regionals. I know I can instruct and be moved on to the regionals in a couple months, but how many students will I fail?? I hear jobs with the forest service are good out of training jobs. Does anyone else have any suggestions and/or links to these jobs sites. Thanks

You could always dish out another 30 G's for a type rating, but you don't want that label. Unless you have an inside gig somewhere it will be hard to find a time building job that pays well. If it even pays.

dude suck it up and do the time like the rest of us, I thought I was horrible and it turned out to be a great experience, and when you get 1200 TT then apply somewhere