Foreign Pilots

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

vlatko

I am a European flight instructor with a student visa and a temporary work permit. I have been looking at regional airlines as my next step but there is
one problem. In order to work a US based company, they have to be willing/eligible to sponsor you. Most regionals will not sponsor foreign pilots for a permanent working visa or a green card.
If anybody has any sort of information on this, please share, whether you know of somebody at your airline that has been through the same process or you know of an airline that sponsors foreing pilots. Any information would be of great importance! Thank you!

its very simple, there are to many willing and able US citizens who will fly regional, let alone asking a prospective company to go the extra step and take a risk of sponsoring an unknown foreign national, think about it... Not a slam, just the facts.

V -

US (121) regional airlines will NOT sponsor you. Suck it up, play the legal game for 5+ year (J visa >> H visa >> Green Card) and apply to a regional.

American Eagle hired some guys from the middle east (after 9/11) on false workpermits... This is why regionals won't touch people anymore (although this is in fact illegal for them to do) on H workpermits.

Frustrating ? maybe so, but it pays off to play the game by it's rules. If you don't like it, go back to the old country, get off your lazzy ass and finish all those damn 14 JAA ATPL written exams :)

FYI : don't be a smartass, and make sure you hire a GOOD immigration lawyer.

Have fun.

PS: Are you from Russia or something (based on your name) ?? In that case you don't even have to get a JAA/European license right ?