FAA Covers Colgan's Ass

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
Colgan makes the front page

June '09 issue of AVIATION INTERNATIONAL NEWS and Colgan is smack on the front page.
Hope they clean up their act and the hiring/training gets better. I also hope the pilot group starts to stand up for itself and demand better pay, training and hiring practices. Until then it's a good thing I am not required to fly on any airframe this company operates. Whew!!!

I have tried 3 times to get on with the FAA with the intent of being a whistle blower the second they even tried to pressure me to look the other way while some airline skirted the intent of the law...

Being an FAA Inspector, I can tell you that it's not the norm that offices "look the other way" and "pressure" inspectors while airlines violate regulations. Just as it would be unfair to say that all Pinnacle pilots are as reckless as those two that crashed in Missouri. There are A LOT of people at the FAA who want to ensure the very safest operations out there.

As far as being a "whistle blower", the FAA has many programs which allow for that type of activity. (especially after the Southwest Airlines mess) Additionally, you would find that enforcing the "intent" of the law is brutally difficult. The airlines have VERY good lawyers. You can't bring an airline into court on a violation saying that the regulation really means this or that. You have to go by the letter of the law. No more, no less. It's a challenging, but rewarding work environment.

I'm dead certain they know my agenda as I've never heard back, and I'm sure, based on their application and the high level of value placed on management work (such as Chief Pilot, DO, etc..) they're looking for "company man" types for these posts.