College Degrees

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

PilotOnTheRise

I have always heard that the type of degree one has does not make a difference when it comes to getting a pilot job, whether with an airline, or a corporate flight department. I understand that many pilots, in fact, do not have a college degree at all. I do plan to obtain a college degree, as I am a current college student. Today, however, something strange happened that has left a few questions in my mind, that I hope you all can offer some advice about.

I went today to my college to meet with an advisor so I can schedule classes for next semester. While in her office, she asked me what my goals were, and about my current major. I informed her that my goal was to become a pilot. A little background information; I am majoring in Information Systems, which is a business degree at LSU, where I attend. She then asked me what was more important; obtaining a business degree from LSU, or just obtaining a degree from LSU. I told her what was more important was to get a degree, period. LSU requires a 3.0 to get into and remain in their business school. This is one of only two degrees at LSU that requires such to get into and remain, according to this advisor. She informed me, as a result, that I should change my major to something else, that would be less stressful as far a classes and grade requirements are concerned. This left me a little confused, but also curious.

Is there any particular degree that you all think works well with becoming a pilot, other than a degree specifically in aviation, which LSU does not have? What did you all major in? I have been thinking of changing to climatology, as it seems as though it would go along well with becoming a pilot, but I am just not sure.