Colgan Starts at $14,400?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

SlipAway

From a Washington Post article on April 18 entitled, "Nimble Regional Airline Builds on Its Small Size."

The starting pay for pilots at Colgan is about $14,400, said Kit Darby, president and publisher of Atlanta-based Aviation Information Resources Inc., which provides career information to pilots. Once pilots become captains at Colgan, they can earn $33,600 a year, he said.

For a little perspective, thirteen years ago (1992), when I graduated college, I got a job as a file clerk at a law firm making $18,000 a year. It is sad that the market is able to bear these kind of pathetic wages.

I hate defending Colgan.... BUT

That article is full of crap.. Beech 1900 FOs start at 20 with a 75 hour min. That's 18K at a minimum... 33,6 is no where near the top end either.

Colgan may suck in a lot of ways, but they pay pretty well for the equipment they fly.

Oh, $18k is much better...I mean at $14,400 I'd be worried about being able to pay for the chicken-flavored Ramen Noodles......but $18k...whew! Could probably even afford the 2-story cardboard box on that salary!!:rolleyes:

Come on guys, stocking shelves at Home Depot pays better than this and you don't have to pay loans off while working there. I know everyone has to start somewhere but this is not fair to anyone to work as a flight crew member for these "salaries" I made more than this annually flight instructing quite a while ago, and if the weather was crap I didn't go. I'm sure others on this board might have some better advice than I but don't whore yourself.

chperplt said:
.....Beech 1900 FOs start at 20...... but they pay pretty well for the equipment they fly......