• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Building PIC Time

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
i'd be willing to bet a lot of private pilots that "take more risks and challenge the weather" become smoking holes.

just a thought.

maybe that's the operator's nice way of saying we're not hiring

:D

One big difference between the person who "builds time" in his or her own aircraft, and one who had gained experience working for someone else, is validation.

It's very easy for a private pilot to validate himself or herself. I'm a great pilot, I allow me to fly for myself.

It's a little different when one flies for someone else. In this case, an owner or chief pilot has evaluated the applicant, found him or her competent, and in many cases, administered ongoing tests of competency or skill to ensure that the employee is meeting a known standard.

Further, the private pilot can't (or shouldn't) write a recommendation for himself. One who has been flying in the employ of another should always strive to leave with a letter of recommendation and on good terms; that becomes invalueable at a later date in seeking other employment. It was once said to me a long time ago that your most critical objective in accepting employment is securing a good recommendation. Do that, and all else will fall in line.

There's absolutely nothing wrong with owning your own airplane. If that's something you want to do, then don't turn away. It's expensive and a big commitment, no matter what you own...but if it's worth it to you, then have a ball.