Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

CA1900

Big Member
So I'm sitting in a nice local bar in an unnamed city a few nights ago with my FO, for a couple of beers to unwind after a fairly high-workload day. In general, I don't mention to a soul that I'm a pilot on an overnight. If asked at a hotel bar, I'm "here on business." At local bars, I'm rarely asked at all.

So the guy I'm flying with overhears the guys next to us talking shop -- they're clearly another airline crew. He casually asks who they fly for. He tells us. (I'll omit it; no need to point fingers at anyone.) Here we go...

That wasn't a big deal at all, really -- I usually don't mention it because I don't want to talk shop on my off hours on an overnight. But hey, my FO did, and that's fine. The problem comes toward the end of our visit, when he asks us, "So, what time's your show?" Ack, that's something that should never be asked at a bar amongst aircrews!

I always assumed it to be an unwritten code, but apparently word isn't getting around. So spread the word to the new guys: Talk shop at your own peril, and for heaven's sake don't ask a question that could get somebody in trouble. I'm not talking about boozing it up within hours of showtime, I'm talking a beer with dinner that might violate a company's 12-hour rule, for example. A drunk pilot is another matter entirely.

Let's hope it was just the White Russians the guy had that caused the slip-up. It's just a crass question to ask.

Thank you.

A pilot shall not drink.

If a pilot do drink, he shall not get drunk.

If he do get drunk, he shall not stumble.

If he do stumble, he shall not fall down.

If he falls down, he shall get up.

If he cannot get up, he shall remove all insignia so that he will be thought to be________ (fill in the blank).