Any tips before Saab 340B traning?

antney

Total Time
+++
I am starting class for saab training at the end of this month. I was wondering if anyone can give me any ideas that would help me prepare myself for traning, regardless if it is for the saab. just general preparation for my first 121 ground school. I am coming from the CFI ranks, so my experience is very limited in ground schools for 121 companies. any suggestions would be great, ecspecially if they involve the saab. i have found some memory items and limitations for the saab from previous people with the same company. well thanks if anyone can help.
antney

FL350

WAR EAGLE!!!!
Total Time
Who did you get hired by flying the 340?

SF3409E

Total Time
Learn the memory items and limitations as early as possible. Also, don't go to the sim without knowing your CALLS and PROFILES. Know them forwards and backwards. I was a Saab sim instructor for a while and the guys that had the most trouble in the sim was because the couldn't think of their calls when they needed them. Good Luck in training, and have fun in the Saab. It is a great airplane to fly!

T-handle

Total Time
6000+
GE CT7

The good ol' Saab-o-matic... nothing beats this fine Swedish bird.

You'll probably end up spending a majority of ground school learning about the lovely engine systems. Correct me if I'm wrong, but as I remember the GE CT7 is a Blackhawk engine converted for airplane usage. Lots of overspeed protection!

Last edited:

FlyinBrian

Office Slut
Total Time
Yeah, that CT7-9B had all sorts of overspeed protection. The above advice is the best you can get, so I'll re-iterate. Know all your limitations and memory items early as possible. Just start memorizing, even if you have no idea what they mean. You'll learn what they mean in school and in the sim. learn the profiles (and associated calls) front and back before you get in the sim.