• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

America's Deadliest Jobs

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
I doubt that is just professional pilots that fly for a living. I'm sure that includes all the weekend pilots, non-instrument current pilots, and the typical guys that say "yea I'm a pilot too, I got my pilot license".

I have lost a few buddies since my career started but few were from a 121/135/91k flight.

I doubt that is just professional pilots that fly for a living. I'm sure that includes all the weekend pilots, non-instrument current pilots, and the typical guys that say "yea I'm a pilot too, I got my pilot license".

I have lost a few buddies since my career started but few were from a 121/135/91k flight.

I would disagree with your assessment, and world view of the situation. I can think of a lot of dead pilots in just 2009. FedEx MD-11 121 N526FE, A Lear 60 in SC 135, Colgan in NY 121 N200WQ. Those were only the one's that made the news. I also think that figure includes 135 Helicopter Ops, like Air Med Flights. And don’t forget about flight instructing. Just think a little harder and you will see a deadly profession.

Those were Department of Labor statistics for people who died on the job, by definition I doubt they include GA weekend pilots.

Despite the relative safety of air travel, being a professional pilot has been the deadliest (1920's, 1930's time frame) or one of the deadliest professions since it began.

Those were Department of Labor statistics for people who died on the job, by definition I doubt they include GA weekend pilots.

Despite the relative safety of air travel, being a professional pilot has been the deadliest (1920's, 1930's time frame) or one of the deadliest professions since it began.