AC/DC powered aircraft

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

dkelly

Hey everyone. I'm doing a report on ground power units and am trying to find info on what particular aircraft are DC powered and AC powered. Different Makes and Models would be extremely helpful, thanks in advance.

Man that was just wrong! I'm an AC/DC powered pilot!
HEAD OUT ON THE HIGHWAY!!!! GOIN TO THE SHOW!!!! The bagpipe solo is the sh!t!

SORRY. I just got the new box set!
http://www.acdcrocks.com/

Hey aussiefly....it's your freakin country. What town is that where they filmed "It's a Long Way to the Top if Your Gonna Rock and Roll?" with the bagpipes and all.

Last edited:
Most large airplanes are both. Meaning that they have both AC and DC components. And in many cases DC controlled AC systems. Most turbine mounted generators put out AC power, that is then converted to DC for the various needs as required.

However speaking from a GPU point of view, most are ac and converted to DC.....well anything that has to do with the battery system anyhow, since I am sure you know that AC power cannot be stored in a battery.

Short answer, most use ac hookups, but use inverters or Transformer rectifier units to convert the power to what ever the various systems require.

Clear as mud huh?

EDIT: To try to unconfuse you.....generally speaking glass video screens, fms's, and electric anti ice systems (windshields, non bleed air hot wings etc) are AC powered. As well as all of the large energy consumpsion items.

Avionics not included in the above, lights, switch controls and such are generally DC powered. For example, an AC powered heated windshield might be controlled by a DC powered switch.

Transformer converts AC to DC Power.
Inverters convert DC to AC power.