Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Bobby Orr 4

Just happy to be here.
Let me first say that I graduated from ERAU in 1997. I received a great education and met friends I am still close with today. I placed a post on the other General section about the cost of a 4 year degree from Riddle for recent or current students. It seems the academics, flight and living expenses will run over $150,000.00 for the 4 year degree. If a student is fortunate enough to have their education paid for by parents, grants, or scholarships that is great.
For the student (like I was) who is going to take out massive loans to pay for their education, how is ERAU selling it?
Graduate $150,000.00 in student loans
First job flight indtructing pays about $18,000.00/year for 2 years
First regional job starts at $22,000.00
Regional captain $60,000.00 upgrade time 3 to 8 years depending on company.
Chances of getting a gig with the UPS, FDX, SWA, CAL, etc ??????
I know ERAU shows there will be massive retirements. Keeps the kids optomistic. They will be competing against current pilots who have their degree, tons of flight time, etc. Those will be the pilots who will have first shot at the top earning jobs?
I guess my point is you do not need a $150,000.00 education to be competitive for the most desirable jobs. Go to a state college and get a degree. A reputable flight school will give you the same FAA certification for considerable savings. How does ERAU continue to attract students when their prices continue to increase??

Don't you know, Embry Riddle guarantees 99% job placement after graduation. It is the best flight training in the civillian world. It's Harvard at 35,000 feet......oh wait that's UND.

Lol

Having a bad day?