What makes a good Corporate Pilot?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

HawkerF/O

I heard some pilots talking over the weekend and they were some of the most arrogant, ego driven, crotchety old men I had ever come across in my life. They did not know I was a pilot so I just listened in to what they were talking about. They thought they should be paid better then surgeons. Personally, I disagree, but to each his own.

While listening to those guys, I thought of my sparring partners here at flightinfo and wondered what all of you thought makes a good corporate pilot. I'll even settle for what you think does not make a good corporate pilot, but I would prefer your thoughts on what exactly it is that makes a good corporate pilot. I'll go 1st.......................

Personally, I think a great corporate pilot is one that truly understands the fact that the job is 10% flying and 90% details.

Just rolled one on? So what, that's your job. Fly a great ILS, did ya? Who cares, that's what you get paid to do. Mr. GotBucks has no idea what you just did. Just negotiated at .75 cent per gallon fuel discount and the upload you got is not only cheaper than you get at home, but it is the cheapest per gallon uplift you have gotten all year; big deal, odds are anyone outside the flight department that matters will have no clue you just saved the company $750 on your 1000 gallon purchase because you had the foresight to realize you could do better than posted retail.