Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Joshrk22

Sierra Hotel
Alright, I've been flying with one guy for a few months now and I just recently went up with another instructor, but this is how it breaks down. Instructor 1 has thousands of hours, the older type, flys by the seat of the pants. Instructor 2 is younger, couple hundred hours or so, but tends to rely more on the gauges and not seat of the pants flying.

I recently went up with instructor 2 and noticed that there were very different characteristics between 1 & 2. 1 doesn't have me use the trim wheel, but he likes to fly tight traffic patterns (less than a half mile) in case of an emergency (smart thing to do I guess). 2 has me use the trim wheel, he has set airspeeds in the traffic pattern that he wants me to fly (although he wants a 800 ft TP?). I have about 10 flights now and 1 watches me go over the checklist, 2 walks me through it and it's incredibly thorough (almost to the point that I don't even get anytime of actual flying, let me add we are the only ones to fly this plane).

I have 11 hours now and I would think I would have soloed by now. 1 was going to let me solo at around 8 hours, but 2 is making me go through a checkride with him first before I'm allowed to solo. Now that I just started flying with 2, it's like I'm starting all over again. So now I'm switching back and forth between 1 and 2, because that's the only way I really get any steady time in.

Training with the Children's Air Patrol is nice for the pricetag ($50 an hour wet for a '97 172) but it's getting frustrating that I'm not progressing. My 17th birthday is in 6 weeks and I was looking forward to getting my PPL on it, but I'm not even close, and I started my lessons back in August!