weight limit for Taos NM

Wantfrys

Active member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Posts
39
Total Time
7000+
Anybody fly a G-V in to Taos? I called down their to ask about weight limits and was told "V's come in here all the time". When I asked for a copy of the survey they couldn't find one. Air nav shows a single wheel of 24000 and no data for double.

Thanks
 

SpeedRestricted

Active member
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Posts
28
Total Time
.1
Somewhat related...A local airport manager once told me that the numbers you see published are stress limits for regular use. For non-regular operations the concrete could take a lot more weight. He just had to personally approve the heavier than published operations when needed. I'm not sure if that is the case everywhere but for those who fly the bigger stuff it never hurts to talk to the airport manager if you are above published numbers and still want to used that airport.
 

TMMT

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 25, 2002
Posts
21,654
Total Time
Alot
No fat chicks allowed!
 

Partyfoul

Well-known member
Joined
May 16, 2005
Posts
57
Total Time
8700
I've been in there with a V. No problem, ramp space is very tight and we did not spend the night. We were told no RON's for IV's or V's.
 

con-pilot

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 7, 2002
Posts
13,296
Total Time
21,000
Lord did we have trouble with weight limits back when I was flying 727s. Sometimes you can go by the AIM and sometimes you can't. Once I landed at an airport in Texas, the AIM was right on the money for a 727-100 weight, but we still called the airport manager, I really think he was a bartender in town, and he said "no problem, come on in."

So I did, the back end crew lower aft airstair and about three minutes later the FE came running back to the cockpit and yelled '"Crank it up, crank it up and get it moving." We were sinking into the ramp. As soon as we got two engines running I started to try to taxi, it took a lot of power, but we finally started moving and didn't stop until I landed at the next airport.

But then again the 727 has the highest foot print of any aircraft I know.
 

stevetrip89

New member
Joined
Jan 9, 2008
Posts
1
Total Time
5300
They have a PCN of 19 which equates to a tandem (GV) weight of 70K. We took AF G5's there all the time over the last few years. Just watch some of the taxiways, they are also very low PCN's.
 

ksu_aviator

GO CATS
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Posts
1,327
Total Time
4100
Lord did we have trouble with weight limits back when I was flying 727s. Sometimes you can go by the AIM and sometimes you can't. Once I landed at an airport in Texas, the AIM was right on the money for a 727-100 weight, but we still called the airport manager, I really think he was a bartender in town, and he said "no problem, come on in."

So I did, the back end crew lower aft airstair and about three minutes later the FE came running back to the cockpit and yelled '"Crank it up, crank it up and get it moving." We were sinking into the ramp. As soon as we got two engines running I started to try to taxi, it took a lot of power, but we finally started moving and didn't stop until I landed at the next airport.

But then again the 727 has the highest foot print of any aircraft I know.

Unfortunately the AFD only gives you information for the runway and not the ramp or even the taxiways.
 

ksu_aviator

GO CATS
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Posts
1,327
Total Time
4100
So I did a little research. This is from the AFD Legend:

Runway strength data shown in his publication is derived from the available information and is a realistic estimate of capability at an average level of activity. It is not intended as a maximum allowable weight or as an operating limitation. Many airport pavements are capable of supporting limited operations with gross weights of 25-50% in excess of the published figures. Permissible operating weights, insofar as runway strengths are concerned, are a matter of agreement between the owner and user. When desiring o operate into any airport at weights in excess of those published in the publication, users should contact the airport management for permission....

So, the case of Taos, prior permission will need to be granted by the airport. You may even consider getting an LOA for your aircraft so that you don't have to call them every time you go in there.
 

Wantfrys

Active member
Joined
Aug 9, 2005
Posts
39
Total Time
7000+
Thanks for all the replys

I did contact them. I was just seeing if the answer I got was correct. I've made many calls before where the reply was "Oh yea we have many V's come in" only to find out that it was IV's and we had a problem parking.
 
Top