two quick questions....

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

pipers

I am fairly new to the concept of Airline Unions and labor and I have a couple of questions about it. I am a firm believer in unions and there importance in the airline industry. I am currently studying labor/transportation economics and was wondering about the relevence of two questions of which I might write a research paper on.

1) How much falt (if any) is labor pay issues to blame for United chapter 11 and current problems? Arguments?

2) Do you think it would be reasonable to negosiate a base labor (different for flight attendents, pilots, etc.) pay salery and then have quarterly bonuses based on quarterly profits. That way during times of economic stability and growth, ie. during the late 90', the company as a whole benefits, but during times of a looming war, recession, etc...the company doesn't bleed to death in labor costs when travel is zilch and fuel costs are high. Or are labor costs even an issue in Uniteds/AA/etc. finicial problems?

It seems that aviation has more "high-highs and low-lows" than most other industries. I don't know if versitle labor costs would help....just thinking.

Thanks

Feb 3, 2003 Aviation Week/ Space Tech

I don't have a response for your second question but I'm not sure "versatile labor cost" will really be that effective (for the reasons listed in the editorial of the Feb 3, 2003 issue of Aviation Week and Space Technology.

And this is my response to Question 1: Read the editorial titled "Bring binding arbitration to airline disputes" by Stephen J. Cabot.