Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

imploded

Corporate cog
Very long, messy story short: I'm at risk of license suspension because I got 3 speeding tickets in a year. I'm new to flying, just in the past year, and I've decided that I'm going full bore for my CFI ratings, and the long charter / regional / major route.

Problem is, some of my friends have pointed out to me that if I do end up with a suspended license, it's all over. No regional or major would pick me up -- and that frightens me. I'm never going to stop flying; but I want to know, frankly, is this a death knell for my hopes?

I have no drinking offenses, nothing like that -- basically, a bad year of getting caught in a couple crappy situations. So....

Thoughts?

Thanks folks.

1. Slow down. No more tickets. See if you can appeal to prevent the suspension. Might be too late for that.

2. Get competitive time/rating-wise. This will be difficult to do these days as the days of 1000hr new hires are gone (not forever, though).

3. Be honest when you fill out the applications. They will find out when they do your NDR background check.

4. Be honest when interview time comes. "It was a long time ago. I was not driving very responsibly, had my license suspended, and learned from that I needed to pay more attention when I was driving. Since then, I have had a spotless driving record." You need to show and prove that you are a responsible person. What did you learn from the experience?

Hope this helps.

BL

How far back do the background checks go (for speeding tickets, etc.)?