• Invite everyone to Flightinfo.com and let's have fun

Ten most overpaid jobs

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web
how dare any of us try to earn a good living and provide for our families. this crack baby needs to do an piece on regional FO pay.

I'm an insurance broker who makes a decent living. I get paid for how many lives are on the plan that I sell. If the company has 200 EE's then I get a certain commission based on the participation (EE's and their dependants etc.). The companies that I contract with pay between 5 and 7 % commission on premium billed to the company.

Sometimes I come across a group that has 1,000 plus members on their plan, the same commission applies. Am I worth the money that the Ins. companies pay me? At the end of the year I find out come renewal time. Now, I know there are a ton of people in my business barely making due with what they are paid. I also know of several unscrupulous (sp?) folks in my industry that make several times what I make, sometimes bordering on the illegal. If you think that being a professional pilot is hard then try being an insurance salesman, they get hammered every day and normally don't make shizznit.

Sorry for the rant.

Not to defend the journalist but as I read the article he clearly wrote "Major Ailrine" pilots. In particular those of the failing cariers and the one major, Delta. He also was quick to point out the HUGE difference in pay from these pilots and those on Regional pay and the monstrous gap between the top end of the Delta guys and gals and those at cariers such as Jetblue and Southwest.,

That's what I read at least. Did others see it differently?

Reply from Pummer