• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Ty Webb

Hostage to Fortune
The Corn Dog Cult- SWA tactics on the ramp

Anyone else besides me notice the little "game" of pretending not to hear ground or ramp, until they have cut you off?

Anyone else ever wonder what would happen if we all started playing "Chicken" on the ramps and taxiways?

I'm getting a little tired of it.

Last edited:
Ty Webb said:
Anyone besides me notice the little game of pretending not to hear ground or ramp, until they have cut you off?

Anyone else ever wonder what would happen if we all started playing "Chicken" on the ramps and taxiways?

In the 10 plus years I have been here I have never seen what you are talking about. Not that it hasn't happen but I can assure you it is not the norm. As a first officer I was never approached by a Captain to behave such a way and as a Captain it has never occurred to me to be so unprofessional.

On that note Ty, one of the most unprofessional acts I have ever seen was by a Air Tran DC-9 one night a couple years ago in MCO that got the controller peeved. But I don't think that is your culture. In the last six months I have witnessed some extreme unprofessionalism by both USAIR and Delta that could have been safety issues if we didn't yield to their maneuvering on the ground. Again both times the controller had to intervene. But thats not their culture. Just a couple people exercising a moment of bad judgment that I'm sure they regretted later.

We share so few cities together I am surprised that you really think that you know our operation so well. Please, spend your time with more important issues than trying to paint an unfair picture of your fellow pilot brother's and sister's.

Respectfully,

SWAdude :cool:

"Never argue with a fool; people might not know the difference".