• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Mogus

Eh?
Hey,
I am enrolled in the AFROTC Detachment 860 at Utah State University. I'm a freshman majoring in electrical engineering. My goal is to be awarded a pilot slot. Could anyone provide me some guidance and insight on how to be a successful cadet and to be a competitive pilot slot candidate? Thank you very much.

Well I've got a little insight on this one. I did two semesters of AFROTC as a junior. I never contracted and decided to go another route. (I've got another thread about 6 or 7 down on this page.) Had I contracted I would have been in the two year POC program.

Most Air Force pilots come out of ROTC. In recent years they passed up the academy for total pilot selectees per year. You apply for a pilot slot in the spring of your second to last year of school. Pilot selection is based 50% off of commander's reccomendations, then grades, then PCSM score, and AFOQT scores.

You must be contracted before you apply, and you've got but one shot at it. If you don't get picked up, that's it, you're doing something else as an officer in the Air Force. At my old Det last year 11 applied, 3 got it. Year before that, 4 applied 1 got it.

Now as a technical major they may throw some scholarship money at you, but you've got to be contracted to get it. Keep in mind it may or may not help you in getting a pilot slot. I saw a history major with a PCSM of 25 get selected over an engieneer with a PCSM of 95 who got turned down. Go figure.

Incidentaly, I was at Det 850, about 40 miles South of where you're at. I'm at the U of U.

Hope this helps...

Last edited:
Here's what you must do

Hi,