Single engine ATP add on to multi ATP

Rally

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 22, 2004
Posts
707
Total Time
2300
Where can I find what is required to add a SE ATP privlidges to a already existing multi engine ATP? I can't seem to find this anywhere in the PTS.

Thanks
 

Princedietrich

Retired Starchecker
Joined
Oct 27, 2004
Posts
1,437
Total Time
Enough
From page 7 of the current ATP PTS


Use of the Practical Test Standards

[FONT=Arial,Arial]The TASKs in this PTS are for an initial airline transport pilot certificate, or the addition of a category, class, or aircraft type rating to an airline transport pilot certificate. All appropriate TASKs required for an initial type rating are also required for pilot-in-command proficiency checks conducted in accordance with 14 CFR part 61, section 61.58.[/FONT]

All TASKs are required, [FONT=Arial,Arial]except as noted. When a particular element [/FONT]is not appropriate to the aircraft or its equipment, [FONT=Arial,Arial]that element may be omitted. [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial,Arial]If the multiengine airplane used for the flight check does not publish a VMC, then the "Limited to Centerline Thrust" restriction will be added to any certificate issued from this check, unless competence in a multiengine airplane with a published VMC has already been demonstrated. [/FONT]

[FONT=Arial,Arial]Examples of element exceptions are: integrated flight systems for aircraft not so equipped, operation of landing gear in fixed gear aircraft, multiengine TASKs in single-engine aircraft, or other situations where the aircraft operation is not compatible with the requirement of the element. [/FONT]


So basicly, you have to go through the entire PTS regardless of the type of test you're going for. You just omit the things that your particular airplane is not capable of. Just about every other PTS contains a matrix page that tells you which tasks to do for a particular test or addon rating, but the ATP doesn't have that.
 

Amish RakeFight

Registered Loser
Joined
Dec 28, 2005
Posts
8,006
Total Time
.
In the front of every PTS there's a matrix which shows what tasks can be credited based upon your current certificates and ratings.

Check the ATP PTS and it should show you in a grid format which tasks are required for the SE ATP add-on.
 

navigatro

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Posts
149
Total Time
< you
I think you just have to do chandelles and turns about a point or something like that. I have heard from some military guys that went back to add on their SE rating, and they only had to do 2 or 3 maneuvers.
 

flyer172r

Well-known member
Joined
Jun 13, 2004
Posts
948
Total Time
5000
I think you just have to do chandelles and turns about a point or something like that. I have heard from some military guys that went back to add on their SE rating, and they only had to do 2 or 3 maneuvers.
Assuming he already has a commercial single, there's nothing like that. It's pretty much just a fancy instrument ride.
 

VW Pilot

MMM...PIGEON CASSEROLE
Joined
Jun 3, 2006
Posts
257
Total Time
Rising
Guess that sums up the whole post huh? What an ending.......HA!
 

ROSWELL41

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Posts
467
Total Time
6000+
You have to complete all the applicable tasks in the PTS. I did mine in a Piper Arrow.
 

00Dog

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Posts
147
Total Time
3000
and a complete waste of the student and examiners' time.
I think there are operations that require a SE ATP when they fly Caravans or PC-12s scheduled 135. Or, maybe you were just implying that the ME ATP should automatically give you the SE?
 
Last edited:

brokeflyer

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 12, 2005
Posts
2,374
Total Time
1501
you dont need a SE atp to fly pax in a van 135.....i know...i used to do it.
 

ROSWELL41

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Posts
467
Total Time
6000+
Just why most people get a glider, seaplane, or hot air balloon rating...there might not always be financial gain driving the decision. People, like myself, are just airplane nerds.
 

kingairyahoo

my old job...
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Posts
515
Total Time
41yrs
you dont need a SE atp to fly pax in a van 135.....i know...i used to do it.
...i dont think the question was whats required to fly pax from a FAR standpoint, but sounds as if it may be a company requirement to do same ;)
 

00Dog

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 27, 2001
Posts
147
Total Time
3000
you dont need a SE atp to fly pax in a van 135.....i know...i used to do it.
Which SCHEDULED 135 company did you fly a van for that didn't have an ATP requirement? People fly 402s all day 135 without an ATP. When they are operated scheduled 135 you need an ATP...i know...i used to do it.
 

Rez O. Lewshun

Save the Profession
Joined
Jan 19, 2004
Posts
13,422
Total Time
X>X
If you do a ATP SE check ride... do it with the Feds... it is free!!!
 
Top