Question for Flex CL300 drivers

t-bone

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Posts
641
Total Time
6000
How do you guys compensate for runway gradient when making your landing distance calculations? There is inconsistency in the use of gradient in both manufacturer and vendor provided data. The AFM doesn't seem to have a correction chart for landing (it does for takeoff) while the QRH has a note to add 650 feet per 1% downhill gradient. Where does that note come from? Entering a downhill slope into the FMS does result in a greater landing distance. Neither APG or ASAP seem to provide runway analysis that corrects for slope, and UltraNav doesn't factor it into landing distance computations.

Obviously we want to use the more conservative data and will correct for the slope, so my question is how do you manage this inconsistency when doing your preflight planning?

Thanks in advance

T-Bone
 

Flex-ible

JAFO
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Posts
264
Total Time
40+
Use the FMS number. But the landing distances for the 300 are so ridiculously short (have you tapped the brakes on thea thing?) that there are very few places it makes any difference.

The real question is what do you do at Telluride (with the dip in the middle!)
 

GSXR600

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Posts
432
Total Time
.1solo
How do you guys compensate for runway gradient when making your landing distance calculations? There is inconsistency in the use of gradient in both manufacturer and vendor provided data. The AFM doesn't seem to have a correction chart for landing (it does for takeoff) while the QRH has a note to add 650 feet per 1% downhill gradient. Where does that note come from? Entering a downhill slope into the FMS does result in a greater landing distance. Neither APG or ASAP seem to provide runway analysis that corrects for slope, and UltraNav doesn't factor it into landing distance computations.

Obviously we want to use the more conservative
data and will correct for the slope, so my question is how do you manage this inconsistency when doing your preflight planning?

Thanks in advance

T-Bone

Dude, you are reading too much into it and you are making it sound more complicate than it is. Agree with Flex able just use the FMS numbers. The breaking power of this bird will pull you off the seat if you are not strapped in!!
 

t-bone

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Posts
641
Total Time
6000
Dude, you are reading too much into it and you are making it sound more complicate than it is. Agree with Flex able just use the FMS numbers. The breaking power of this bird will pull you off the seat if you are not strapped in!!

I hear ya, just thinking about planning ahead of time, long before I've even got the FMS powered up.
 

GSXR600

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 31, 2007
Posts
432
Total Time
.1solo
My advise is learn as much as you can your way around the FMS on this baby, trust me! is your friend.
The Collins 5000 is the best tool to fly this puppy.
ok going to sleep now.....lol
 

C604Pilot

Member
Joined
Jan 9, 2006
Posts
21
Total Time
5000
APG corrects for the slope, its right under the RWY dist available. But as said above, use the FMS.
 

JokerFuel

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 9, 2003
Posts
110
Total Time
Good
APG does account for slope. That being said, the thing goes in and out of Nevis (Dry)... Trust the FMS. There are very few places you really need to worry about it, even hot, high and heavy. If you're looking at something really iffy, numbers or not, don't go there.
 

t-bone

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Posts
641
Total Time
6000
Thanks guys. I can't wait. Ours is going thru conformity checks this week and then some validation flights next week with the FAA before going into revenue service.
 

cherry20's

Registered FI Abuser
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Posts
714
Total Time
7000
I bet your more excited than a puppy with two peters aren't you t-bone?
 

Flex-ible

JAFO
Joined
Jan 12, 2008
Posts
264
Total Time
40+
Thanks guys. I can't wait. Ours is going thru conformity checks this week and then some validation flights next week with the FAA before going into revenue service.
XO JET?

Rumor says a bunch of Flex guys applied there at one point.......
 

cherry20's

Registered FI Abuser
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Posts
714
Total Time
7000
XOJET, one word.

Hadn't heard that rumor, but I just started IOE...
 

jonjuan

Honey Ryder
Joined
Feb 26, 2004
Posts
4,155
Total Time
3,000+
why did xojet place a "false window" sticker on the 300? looked very strange at nbaa.....
 

t-bone

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 26, 2002
Posts
641
Total Time
6000
Nobody on this forum is at a pay-level that was involved in that decision. Up close, I agree, it looks funny. But from a distance, it looks like a window. I guess it's kinda like manscaping makes things look bigger, so do extra windows.

I don't know the answer to your question, and I don't care. The view from inside is all I really care about, and it's phenomenal.
 

cherry20's

Registered FI Abuser
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Posts
714
Total Time
7000
I saw a Lear with the same thing the other day... kinda funny looking but I do some "manscaping" myself... haha, I about dropped my beer!
 
Top