Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Wankel7

It's a slippery slope...
Anybody have any good tips...what to look out for? Dangerously sharp knifes? Old mayonnaise? Kickn' chickn...

Let me know I am new to this whole thing.

Thanks!

Go with your gut. If it looks, smells, tastes, feels bad. It is.

Food poisoning is sadly a common occurence with crew food, and is NOT fun.

I got some fish the other day, started cutting and was surprised how difficult it was. After I got it cut, since it was night I turned on my map light, I noticed it was only seared on the edge of the outside. All pink elsewhere.

never ever ever eat a crew meal in the dark.

Especially if its chicken.

If you've started eating and its dark though don't turn on the lights till you're done because you won't like what you see.

Anybody have any good tips...what to look out for? Dangerously sharp knifes? Old mayonnaise? Kickn' chickn...

Keep it refrigerated absolutely as much as possible. I keep an extra soda cooler from the locker to put the crew food in.

If I want to carry a meal for a later leg, I'll try and keep it back in the cargo bin to keep it extra cool. Be sure to remove anything that'll blow in the unpressurized cargo areas, like yogurt. Ask me how I know. :eek:

Don't order fish from non-coastal states. :D

And like fischman says, go with your gut -- or you'll be clutching it in a couple of hours!

To be an effective pilot, you need to start building up your stomach tolerance. Start by letting your meals sit for 4 hours in the jet. Then over time increase the time you let them sit until you can eat them after being left over night. Eventually you will be able to eat anything anywhere!

Of course if you went to college and ate pizza left overnight you already have a head start.:D :puke: