Places to live in the Atlanta area?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

RadioClash

Where are some nice areas in the Atlanta area to live? Looking for good schools for the kids, a place where they are safe to play in the front yard, reasonable housing prices, etc. I am only familiar with the area around the airport. Would like to live on the north side. Some people have mentioned Marietta, Acworth, Woodstock. I have been told that Cobb county has the best schools in the state?

Any help is appreciated. My commute is getting to be pretty difficult so I think it is time to move.

Thanks in advance.

I'm new to the ATL but I'm staying with some friends in Smyrna and it's very nice. People ususally like Smyrna, Vinings, Peachtree City, or Newnan just to name the bigger/more well known names.

If you like a quiet neighborhood that is affordable and reasonably close to ATL then try the Newnan, Tyrone, Peachtree City area. It is infested with DAL, and ASA pilots since its as close as you can get to the airport and be in a residential area...not the hood or downtown. Smyrna, Vinnings is nice too but if you want to buy its more expensive and not as kid friendly. Smyrna/Vinnings is the perfect place if you are single or just married...no kids. Marrietta is good too but now you are getting far from the airport...but lots of guys live there too.

I Live in Villa Rica. It is the next town past Douglasville. D-ville is nice and has everything you need. It is very affordable. Villa Rica is small town America. Low cost of living, decent schools and low taxes. Lots of growth here all of the sudden though! 35 miles to KATL

East Cobb