Pilots Not Professionals ?

Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

bafanguy

Slow day at The Olde Pilots Home...cruising pprune and ran across a statement in the Rumors & News forum, Jetsgo ceases ops thread, page 3, by eight iron special. The discussion had gotten into the PFT/training contract issue and a guy from the States made the following comment:

"...a pilot is not a true 'professional' like a doctor or lawyer but is simply highly skilled labor...".

While I'd never take that personally, I am curious about the premise. I guess I've never considered flying an airplane for a living anything BUT a profession, considering what's involved, and at stake.

I don't think I've been engaging in any ego-fueled self-aggrandizement for the last 35 years, but just never considered "professional" aviation as anything but that.

What say ye ?

dicksmasher said:
Flying an airplane is only semi-skilled labor at best.

Check the number of posts for this guy/gal. Suspect he is planning to have some fun at our expense. Ignore this person if you can.

Last time I checked skilled labors werent in control of over 1000 lives a day... What is the captain of a ship/submarine/ or spaceshuttle- a skilled craftsman? That statement makes me laugh.

I think what they guy is saying is that doctors and lawyers can work for themselves. a pilot for the most part works for a company. if a pilot had his own a/c and company, and did the flying he would be considered a professional, i guess. i dont think this was meant to bash pilots, just a technical definition of professional.

bafanguy said:
While I'd never take that personally, I am curious about the premise. I guess I've never considered flying an airplane for a living anything BUT a profession, considering what's involved, and at stake.