Welcome to Flightinfo.com

• Register now and join the discussion
  • Modern secure site, no 3rd party apps required
  • Invite your friends
  • Share the passion of aviation
  • Friendliest aviation community on the web

Almerick07

Professional Surf Bum
I will be going to OTS in about a year from now and was wondering besides the typical drill, academics, pt, insane time management and whatnot if there is anything "extracurricular" or is it basically a 24/7 training environment? I am looking forward to this callenge and am just trying to get some details so I can go into it as prepared as possible, thanks.

I graduated last month, it wasn't too bad. It is a suckfest though. Academics are actually pretty important. Time management really is the key, you'll be able to get alot more done after going through it. PT isn't hard at all, just don't be stupid, and learn from the prior-enlisted, they are the key to your success. There is alot of wasted time, but you'll feel pretty good about yourself when it's all done. Good Luck

As far as academics go what did they cover? Cant be all that warrior knowledge stuff can it...12 weeks seems like a bit much for that. Is there anything to "look forward to" as in team sports (besides ultimate frisbee). Are there any free or maybe even just fun weekends or days scheduled in that 3 month period?

Almerick07 said:
Cant be all that warrior knowledge stuff can it...12 weeks seems like a bit much for that.

Nice. Be glad you aren't trying to get commissioned as a Marine. Six months of "warrior knowledge stuff" upon commissioning, regardless of MOS.

MECEPGrad said:
Nice. Be glad you aren't trying to get commissioned as a Marine. Six months of "warrior knowledge stuff" upon commissioning, regardless of MOS.