microsoft flight sim2002

rk772

Here we go STEELERS!!
Joined
Dec 6, 2001
Posts
414
Total Time
4,900
I have never used a PC flight sim. does Microsoft flt. sim. 2002 give an accurate simulation of IFR approaches. If not, is there another PC sim program out there that will (under $100)
I'm not currently flying the real thing so I thought I would fly around on my computer to keep from getting so rusty.
 

Pilotadjuster

I voted for Pedro
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Posts
340
Total Time
400
Flight sim

Used FS 2000 to help prep for instrument, and found it fairly useful for scan and procedures. Also used IP Trainer (ASA) quite a bit. That one is a bit pricey and after you are rated, a bit basic as it is only a C-172, no flaps, no prop, gear, no GPS, autopilot, etc. However its based on ASA's On Top program, which I would think would be very useful (though I think its a little over $100). On Top has many different aircraft, so Im sure you have some complex, GPS-equipped, etc.

Fly Safe!

PA
 

antney

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Posts
159
Total Time
+++
FS2002 is a great trainer. the flight sim world is very big, there are many web sites out there. FS2002 or any other microsoft family simulators are great trainers. you can go to www.flightsim.com they have great downloads, different airplanes, from 152 to 747. there is also another web site that is a download for flight sim its called sqwuak box. people are registered for this at some people are controllers others are pilots. you can fly from O'Hare to Miami with ATC real time from another person on a computer. they do approaches, vectors you even have to file a flight plan, all regs apply, from 250 IAS below 10k, and the correct altitudes when your above fl290. there web site is www.vatsim.net if you go to these web sites and click on the links you can go to many web sites. i do agree that FS2002 is a great purchase and a great trainer, but you can have a lot of fun with it too. hope this helps.
antney
 
C

Chas

ASA on top 7.0 around $ 110 .00

I use ASA on top 7.0 the only problem is the yoke is very sensitive so i use the altitude hold a lot more than I really want . The good thing is you can view your flights afterward and see just how good your approaches ., holds , procedure turns and such are after( even doinfg a replay of the procedures .
 

vja217

Richmond, VA
Joined
Dec 1, 2001
Posts
65
Total Time
300
You can't beat FS2002. They now have the IFR panels down 100%, real world weather updates from Jeppeson, virtual atc, and amazing scenery. They have every airport and every approach in there, and more airplanes available for download that you could imagine. Where else could u try to land the 747 on the Nimitz aircraft carrier?
 

rk772

Here we go STEELERS!!
Joined
Dec 6, 2001
Posts
414
Total Time
4,900
I saw on the fs2002 website that they have a regular edition and a professional edition. The difference in the price is about $30. Is there a big difference in the software?
 

fulcrum

stranger to the ground
Joined
Dec 3, 2001
Posts
122
Total Time
2000+
fs 2000 pro does the job well

get the fs 2000 pro and use it to get your scan up to speed
i use it every day to shoot one approach from the jepp door stop
for the great state of texas

anyway get a sim with a good panel and

1) practice flying a imaginary 1 min square every day
zeo tolerence
2) for another ten mins fly a the same square partial panel

3) practice as many appraoches as you can

tape the 5 t'schecklist to your monitor and talk to yourself thoughout
as if you are teacing yourself you will save at least 1500 bucks on your training also once your training starts practice before you leave and after your lessons
good luck
 

rk772

Here we go STEELERS!!
Joined
Dec 6, 2001
Posts
414
Total Time
4,900
Thanks, but I already have my instrument rating. I just miss flying the ERJ and am looking for a sim that's realistic.
 

antney

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Posts
159
Total Time
+++
if you go to www.flightsim.com they just added for free a download of the ERJ 135/145 panel, you can download the plane there too, they have pretty much evry ERJ paint scheme, from COEX, to American eagle, but FS2002 is a great game and youll enjoy because of the fact that you can download the specefic plane you fly.
antney
 

328dude

Still turning two
Joined
Nov 26, 2001
Posts
1,647
Total Time
??????
I have the ERJ for FS200 and it is really something to play with. Audible warnings for Takeoff Config and crap like that. That bird uses the Primus 1000, and since I fly with the 2000 it is very realistic. Every bezel buttion works for the most part.

However, the ERJ is not yet programmed for 2002 yet. I have been working on this. If you have FS2000 got to www.Flightsim.com and sign up for a free memebership. Search for the ERJ and install it.

We have had problems with moving servers but are slowely getting things fixed. If you get noded out, keep trying and you will eventually get in.

If you need help installing, let me know.
 

Sundowner

Member
Joined
Dec 2, 2001
Posts
17
Total Time
4000+
I'm a retired military pilot, and was out of aviation for 11 years before getting back in (GA aircraft). Someone put me onto FS 2000. I found it absolutely incredible what's been developed while I was "gone". I never would have believed I'd sit here for hours doing this, but it's so realistic. Since then, I've upgraded to FS 2002 (Pro) and even bought a new, more powerful computer to support it! So I guess I'm hooked, not only for instrument proficiency, but for the visual flying. It's fun to re-visit all the places around the country, and world, that I flew in and out of during my military days. I'll be trying the website a couple of others have recommended to see what else I can learn about enhancements, other aircraft to download, etc. So to answer the original question, I recommend FS 2002 (Professional Model)--all you can get.
 

rk772

Here we go STEELERS!!
Joined
Dec 6, 2001
Posts
414
Total Time
4,900
anyone know if there is a American Eagle Saab 340 aircraft download for the ms flight sim. 2002. I found the cockpit for 2002 but could only find the airplane for 2000.
 

antney

Well-known member
Joined
Nov 28, 2001
Posts
159
Total Time
+++
the saab for fs2000 should work in fs2002, just instyall it the same way, and you should be fine.
antney
 
Top